3rd attempt at graphite portrait

1 month ago I had zero experience with drawing portraits. I couldn’t even draw a realistic looking eye. This is my third attempt at drawing a proper portrait, and have been practicing this type of thing for about a month. If you check on the previous “post” on the forum, that was my first attempt which as stated was approximately 1 month ago. So it would be good to get some feedback on wether or not I have improved or not as I don’t have contact with any other artists. And on a “final” note… Yes I am well aware of the fact that I made an error with the right eye (our view) that eye is out of place, and has slightly distorted the facial ratio. As long as I am aware of these errors I can avoid them next time :eye: I am a complete beginner with portrait drawings, literally. So just keep that in mind.

1 Like

I commented on the range of values in your previous portrait, and this one shows a lot of growth in that respect. Along the same lines, (no pun intended) you have rendered very realistic textures in the hair and clothing. The portrait is convincing, and the wrongness you mention does not stand out because I didn’t see the photo reference. Also, many people have unusual eye characteristics so I wouldn’t have known. I wondered about a background, but realized that I like the starkness and honesty of the composition so don’t know if it would add anything.

1 Like

Thank you, I really do appreciate your comment. And with this portrait I kept your previous suggestion in mind throughout :clinking_glasses:

Daniel,