French Vivandiere 1800-15 Sanguine oil pencil

Prepping a sketch for a nice oil painting portrait! 18x24inches. I am trying out a different technique this time by creating a drawing I am happy with and will then transfer it to my canvas for my oil portrait. I’ll have two pieces of art for the price of one then! :grinning: Happy to post more about what this lady represents in history if people are interested?

Thanks James

3 Likes

Thanks for sharing James. As always, your execution of the subject is spot on. Yes, do share more about the vivandiere. I have some knowledge about her role, but I am certain you can expand on my basic knowledge. I hope you will share the oil portrait when it is done. I love what you do.

That’s great. Yes I am interested.

James,
Excellent work as usual!! This is truly the type of artwork that begs more questions about who it is. Are you making illustrations for any particular historian? You should be! How many hours in this so far?
Looking forward to your further descriptions.
Jack