Acrylic paint application

Hi i am new to painting. I’m going to practise a red rose on canvas. There are dark shadows almost black. I’m not sure how to approach it. Should i start with the red then darken the shadows? Thank you :blush:

3 Likes

If you are a member of The Virtual Instructor website, you can sign in to the live lesson which is tonight a 7:00 p.m. Central time. The current project is acrylic painting, and you can ask Matt and Ashley questions through the chat board.

I’m not an acrylic painter, but I’m giving this project a try. I’ve learned a lot. We probably have about three more lessons with it, on Wednesday’s at 7:00 p.m. Central time

Brenda

Hi Mand -
I also agree with Brenda about attending the live lesson if possible so you can ask the pro’s yourself.

Otherwise you can watch the last couple of Live Lessons as recorded and see how Ashley is adding the waves to the background. The rose will be similar.

Basically he is starting with one background color (the water) and then adding the darker areas, and adding the lighter areas. The trick is to use a slow drying medium so that the paint stays wet long enough so that you can blend the transition from mid-tones to dark tones.

Hope this helps.

Terri Robichon

PS. There is also a class at The Virtual Instructor called . . . The Acrylic Painting Academy - getting started with acrylics. You may want to give it a watch. Lesson 4 is on direct painting and has a tube of paint with red where darker tones are being added.

1 Like

Thank you so much Brenda and Terri, your advice is so helpful. I really appreciate it :pray:

1 Like

That is the way I would do it. I always do the dark values last and work around the light values.

Hello Mand,

Everyone has given you really good advice.

One thing to remember with acrylics is that the dry quick and if you don’t like how something is turning out or how a shadow or highlight looks you can paint over it and fix it easy.