How to translate a colored drawing into B/W

I am a beginner to drawing, and I took a photograph of a painting during my last trip to Israel. I would like to try to draw it, but I am having trouble translating all of the colors into B/W on my paper. How do you guys look at color and determine which value of black it should be?

1 Like

Hello Marissa. Welcome aboard. Is you photograph digital? If so, you could download a free software such as Photo Scape X. It is truly excellent and will allow you to view the photograph in grayscale which will translate the colors into a variety of grey tones, making it a lot easier to understand the different values. Good luck!

Yes it is. Thank you. I will try converting it to black and white.

Hi Marissa, just a quick note. There are usually two different settings available: converting to grayscale and then black and white. Remember to use grayscale (black and white won’t help).

Thank you.
I would also like to know how to develop this ability without the use of technology. As there are times when I would like to draw something that is NOT a photograph. I guess that takes time :grin:

Yes, Marissa. I too would like to know how to develop that ability. And, I think you are right… it will come in time - for both of us. :wink: