Afternoon sketch and watercolor

9 Likes

Beautiful! As usual. :star_struck: I love your watercolor application.

Brenda

1 Like

Thank you so much. Really pleased how it came out :smiley:

This is great. Love it.

1 Like

Thank you Denise. Appreciate that. Really learning every sketch I do. And it seems to come in waves :blush::heart:

Another one painted :smiley:

5 Likes

Wow - both of these are wonderful. I love your style - very soothing and beautifully done

1 Like

Thankyou do much :heart::smiley::100:

Well done! I’m beginning to venture more into the realm of watercolor with intent to combine ink and wash. I hope to make progress soon and be able to post something simple to start with that I’ve done relatively well. :slight_smile:
Brenda

2 Likes

Wow, that looks amazing, yours is so well-balanced and even! How do you achieve this look?

1 Like

do you mean in terms of the watercolour?

Yes, exactly. I’m new to watercolour and find it hard to control.

In all honesty I don’t really know, but I have done quite a few now and I keep experimenting. The amount of water on page, how you mix the paint etc, light wash and laying. I am still learning and don’t have any technical advice as I don’t really know, but I keep trying and learning from each painting I do. Also the nice thing with watercolour you can allow the paints to do what they want to do and that is the joy of them… my only advice is, keep painting… look at what you have created and ask ‘what do I like about this?’ ‘What would I change?’ ‘What would I do differently?’. Also I find it helpful to look at inspiration from other artists and how they have applied the watercolour and see if I can get a similar effect. Hope that helps a little :slight_smile:

1 Like

From what I see, you are much further in your journey, than I am. :wink: