How to make washes more coordinated less blotchy

Hi,
so I am completely new to watercolour /line and wash and I tried the free exercise about balance. One thing I noticed is, that my washes are really uneven and blotchy and I havecno idea how to fix this, so I will put the picture up here. Help would be appreciated

3 Likes

Welcome to The forum and also to The Virtual Instructor! I had a lengthy reply typed out for you and managed with one wayward stroke to delete the whole thing. I’m not sure where it went. LOL!

In brief, I really can’t help you with your specific question, but there are great watercolorists on this site that I hope will see your question and chime in. The thing I do recommend, that I’ve done, is to watch as many watercolorists" tutorials on You Tube as you have time for. I learned so much just watching tutorials, even though I didn’t paint along with any of them. That has been a great supplement to what I’ve learned here and from other artists.

Is it your shadows in this lesson you’re concerned with or the actual paint you applied to the paint tubes? What is your experience level with drawing or painting in any medium? I find that improving my drawing skills has helped with everything I’ve attempted. I’ve been a member here since 2021. I could possibly turn into a lifetime member. LOL! I think there is always something new to learn.

Also, if you can, you might watch the new Live Lesson series which starts Wednesday evening. It will be taught by Matt, will be an hour every week until we finish the piece, and we have access through a chat box to ask Matt and Ashley any art-related question we might have. Once you’ve asked the question, they read it and reply right there and then. It’s my favorite night of the week!