Beginning Artist Needing Tips

I took this photo of a local bridge. I started a watercolor interpretation of my photo. I am stuck because I am a beginning artist, and I am afraid I will make mistakes that will ruin what I’ve started. I don’t think I have the skill to finish this painting well, so I feel like I should put it aside until I have more skills. What would you advise? Should I just “go for it” and see how this painting turns out? Should I put it aside until I have more skills and feel more certain I can finish this painting well?

Thanks in advance,
Kali

1 Like

from a N00b.
but

I’ll share it anyway.

I’m absolutely SURE you Should finish this picture. it may not turn out; but you’ll see what doesn’t work , in context, when your efforts are done.

myself, I’ve gotten back into graphite drawings and the big reason WHY is the idea- that producing mistaken laden, homely drawings are practice for better and more skillful works of art in the future.

and hey!

if you look me up, I even did a homely self portrait of myself.

it doesn’t get much harder or more error-prone than that!

and anyways, you can always paint again the same scene when your skills have increased and you think you have figured out how to do a better job at it…

Thank you for your encouragement, tgp, to keep going! I’ll have to gag my inner perfectionist. :grin:

1 Like

One thing I’ve learned about watercolor is that it’s your interpretation of something, and that the way the colors blend create happy surprises. Enjoy your happy surprises!

I really think this is an excellent start. You have nice depth of color in the sky and rendered the water well. Absolutely keep going! I always get to a point where I think, “this is it! Gotta stop here because I’ve reached the limit of my abilities.” Every time I keep going I’m glad I did. That’s the moment when you force yourself to develop the skill.