Struggling for 8 Years - Advice?

This is my first post. I didn’t even know these forums existed, so this is great. I’ve been drawing for 8 years. I have had some breaks in between though.

I struggled with the falcon and the water that I gave up towards the end because I wasn’t getting it. And it’s always that way when I complete my artwork. I’ve bought the best paper thinking it was the paper. I bought different pencils, charcoal, different watercolors, etc. thinking it was the supplies. I’ve even traced the outline to fill in with my value and I still somehow seem to mess that up. I’ve watched countless videos on shape/form, value, etc. I understand the theory behind this but I seem to fail in the output.

When you look at this piece that I completed here, what do you see wrong? Keep in mind I am comparing this to my artwork from 8 years ago. There is some improvement but not much. I’ve spent a lot of time and money on different videos/instructors, plus supplies. I’ve got to be doing something wrong. I am open to any advice. Thanks.

3 Likes

I don’t see anything wrong with it. What do you see wrong with it is more important.

1. Define what you really want your art to be.
  2. Don’t copy anyone else except as a tool to learn.
  3. Are your current art endeavors doing what you want them to do.
    Why not?
  4. What are your weakness in art and deliberately eliminate them with practice and exploration.

My biggest problems are patience enough to put in the time and effort and defining what I actually want to do verses what I think others want me to do.

One last thing, it is never the material or at least rarely. I have seen very interesting art done with colored sand on the ground and no tools, as well as great drawings with ink and a stick.
Best Regards

Dale

@Michelle