Daily routine? Time

Hi, I’m new to this forum and I’m sure this has been discussed before, but, couldn’t find anything posted. I’m curious about how much time others dedicate to creating art or practicing their skills. What does your routine look like? I try to work daily, not very successful and mostly while I’m teaching and explaining concepts (high school art teacher).
Thanks in advance,
Christine

1 Like

Hello Christine & welcome to our community forum. You beat me to the punch as I wanted to post this same question. I reckon I will be first to start. I am a novice at sketching & this is my second year with TVI. When I sit down to draw in the morning, in my “studio”, a spare bedroom, I put on classical music to get the brain waves moving with the help of a cup of coffee. Everything I need for the day is usually on the desk, the vine & compressed charcoal, ect. I change the music throughout the day, mellow tunes (Eric Clapton) to prog rock (Rush) to southern rock (Outlaws) depending on my mood. I usually start around seven in the morning. The day just fly’s by & before I know it its lunch time. This is not everyday as there is yardwork to be done, finishing touch ups inside the house. Not very exciting which is the way I like it.
Jim

1 Like

Nice routine and I like the musical progression!

Christine, the question of time to devote to an art project is a good one. For me, I never think about it, there is no set time requirement, what ever time it takes is what it takes. However, I do not sell my work and if I did I would have to consider how much time was involved. I’m 77 years old and been drawing and painting since childhood thanks to my 5th grade teacher Mrs. Probert who was an art inspiration to me. I do a lot of work on 11x14 paper, sometimes I can finish a project in a day or so and sometimes a week or so depending on the medium. The end result is what’s important to me not the time. Good question thanks for posting .

1 Like