Drawing newbie here

Late start to drawing here. I’m using graphite pencils but even though I’m colorblind, protan, I hope to eventually give color pencils a try and see how funny that looks.

Thanks,
Jeff

4 Likes

Hi Jeff, I’m new here also. I’m really interested in seeing what you draw. because seeing everything in B&W, you’ll probably have an excellent handle on value differences in your drawing. Hope you share some of your work.

2 Likes

Thanks,
I can see most colors until I get into the reds. But you’re correct with the levels of shading I can see. It’s what lead me to graphite.
Thanks for the welcome.

Hey Jeff,
Since you new here. What type of graphite pencils are you using?

And we’ll checking out Colored pencils is a great idea. Also don’t worry about not seeing the colours or not seeing the red tones. Actually, if a portrait is only in blue, it still looks amazing. What you can try when you use Colored pencils, try out monochrome drawing by using just one Color.

You can also use just blue or any other Color and it’s different tones like light medium and dark ones but all are related to the original colour.

1 Like

I’d suggest a few things. First, an electric eraser, then Mono Zero eraser (which uses the 2.3mm small eraser size). The Mono zero erasers and electric erasers aren’t compatible with each other directly, just the same size and material, the mounting methods are different. The electric eraser is like a laser and will remove fine lines quickly, even colored pencils.

Here is a combo pack of the 2.1mm x 5mm rectangular Mono Zero and the 2.3mm Diameter round, these are awesome for getting into tight spots.

Then I’d suggest the brown “Gum Eraser” which pulls off graphite in large areas in a single swipe.

I’ve learned about erasing as much as drawing. :rofl:

For pencils, I like thee 2mm lead holders and HB and 4B leads in them. The NicPro set has been good to me giving 3 pencils and several grades of lead to use in them.