Graphite...now where to?

I have dabbled in graphite for some time now as a self taught wannabe. I would like to expand my artistic horizons and I seek advice from those who have experienced the journey from graphite forward. Where to next? Is it pen and ink and watercolour or…?

I live in a high rise apartment and so do not have a lot of space available to me.

Thanks

Maurice Dittmann

3 Likes

I would go to watercolor next. Do one medium at a time. I do not have a lot of space either. I worked on the kitchen table until I got myself a small easel.

1 Like

Hi Maurice

Here are some ideas, starting with things that are easier when first expanding your skills:

• Try charcoal (including it with white charcoal on toned paper).
  • Pastels allow you to add color and are one of the easier mediums (and help to teach the concept of layering) (I personally like using pastel pencils).
  • Colored pencils give you a lot of control and require a lot of layering and are more time consuming than other media - but a lot of fun to learn.

Those would be my top suggestions. But, really anything you find here is GREAT.

Also, if you go to the menu button for the BLOG, you can see all the Gettin Sketchy lessons from past seasons that were on YouTube. This will show you a variety of stuff and the projects are quicker, easier to accomplish.

Another strong suggestion is to go to the COMMUNITY tab and select Critique / also known as the Member’s Minute. These take a little less than a half hour and there is a new one every week. If time permits you can go back a long way to see older lessons. You will LEARN A LOT watching these, and it will improve your own art, no matter what media you are using.

Personally I love watercolors, but many find them difficult because they are unforgiving. But, I’d never tell you not to give it a try. If you would like to give watercolor a try, don’t forget to consider Gouache, which is an opaque watercolor.