Oil Pastel Finish?

Is there a finish, seal or fixative for oil pastels? Is it advisable to use one?
Or just frame it under glass?

Hi Dale. I am no expert, and I am certain that Matt could answer this better than I can. However, I am fairly certain that he mentioned in the past that there is no need to seal oil pastels. If you do frame your oil pastel under glass, you will need to make sure that there is a space between the glass and the oil pastel. I saw in a discussion blog that there are sealers available for oil pastels (one is Sennelier D’Artigny Oil Pastel Fixative), but it seems that most artists do not seal their oil pastels. The only reason I see for framing under glass, would be to protect from accidental scratches or a dusty environment or in a smoker’s house. Oil pastels never fully dry and survive well without the glass.

Thanks! I am aware they don’t dry and I think like you do. I live in an arid but very dusty environment at this time. Small house and the kitchen is poorly vented for cooking causing some issues. I don’t like the idea of putting something on them but suspect it would be very helpful.

I don’t think there is a fixative for oil pastels. Are you using the oil pastels from start to finish or are you using them for a strong effect like in a mixed medium? Either way, you would still want it to dry before framing it. I always use a mat on all my drawings because the medium I use could be pulled off by the glass over it. I work mainly in mixed mediums, including oil pastels. It is just better that you protect your drawing/painting by doing this. If I am using different mediums on the same drawing I will still put a mat between the glass and painting. If the picture is mostly pastels (soft & hard) then I use a fixative to seal them. I usually use oil pastels as a strong highlight. But, I would certainly ask Matt that question on the critique form, you can submit questions there.

Lenora