Ink control with dip pens

Today I started adding some pen and ink exercises to my mix of activities.
I did the texture exercises with a nib, technical pen and ballpoint pen each. For some reason I feel that I have the best control with my ballpoint pen.
I have a really hard time with the thickness of the lines with a nib.

What is a good way to control the ink flow with a nib? Do you know some good exercises? Which of the videos cover the dip pen? (So far they have been introduced but all exercises are done with a micron .03, so I’m a bit lost there…)

Happy drawing everyone

2 Likes

Hi Jennilein,
Sorry I can’t help with this one because I have no experience with Nib Pens. What I wanted to tell you is that if you like ballpoint pens, watch for posts here from MAKI. She specializes in ballpoint pen drawings and they are Incredible.

Terri Robichon

1 Like

Thank you, yes, I have already seen the beautiful cats and the trees, they are gorgeous. I also wrote down the pen she uses as I only have a very old ballpoint pen from my school days, that isn’t really suitable anymore :melting_face:

1 Like

Do not fill the pen too much and go light with your hand. I had the same problem.

3 Likes

Those of us who grew up when there were no ballpoints know that for dip pens, practice is the only way to get better. I can’t tell you how many times I blotched drawings because I got impatient. Usually about the time you mastered a nib, it would wear out and you started all over again. Ball points and technical pens are so much easier to use.

@matriarchJane39
That sounds discouraging! :laughing:
I remember having a similar issue, when I tried calligraphy years back… that’s why I gave up in the end, all the blotches and bleed through

yes - practice! I love my dip pens and it takes time to figure out how much ink to dip, pressure, etc. Once you get it - you will love it.

1 Like