Total beginner in pen and ink

I’ve been playing with watercolour lessons since retiring a year ago and seemed to gravitate to those lessons that highlighted the work with pen and ink. I tried a few simple drawings, got hooked, and have started the Pen and Ink Experience. I thought the gap between drawing textured cubes in lesson 3 and a full scenery in lesson 4 was too huge but went ahead anyhow. The step-by-step detailed video gave me the confidence to try a picture of my back yard. I struggle with differing textures and tones, especially in the trees and would appreciate any critique or suggestions.

14 Likes

Greetings, Teresa. Welcome! :smiley: I am not expert at pen and ink. As a matter of fact, I know nothing. But, I do know that your piece here is very nice. You have a lovely back yard and you did a good job drawing it.

Try making more darker values in the trees and House.The texture of the trees are fine. I think it is a great job though.

Just like Denise, I feel you did a great job with varying the rendition of the trees as well as applying good perspective. Just like Ginny, I cannot claim to be an expert but I think that if you would push the dark values a little more in some of the trees it would provide a little more depth to the image. Great job! I like your backyard too.

Hi Teresa,
I think this is a great work and I do understand how hard to deal with the “textures” of trees. I introduced some tree pen drawings in the following link, which I suspect may be of some help.

But I used a ballpoint pen to draw these trees so I guess the control of the device was much easier compared to other types of pens.
Hope this helps :beers:

Thank you, everyone - I appreciate the encouragement. I hadn’t thought of it earlier, but I just changed the reference photo to black and white so I’m much more comfortable on where to darken up.
Maki, thank you so much for the tree examples. The detail is fantastic and they will really help me!

1 Like