Pen & ink course drawings

Well, the title is deceiving, because so far I have only one picture to show for, but here it is. I must say, I really don’t like it, apart from the shed frontside, part of the surrounding fence and the bark. I like the fence in the front.
I need advice/help with the trees especially. Don’t like the treeline at all.
I’m completely new to this medium. I used staedtler 0.1 and 0.05

5 Likes

Hi Jennilein -

I think this is a really good “start” but could benefit from some more work. I have not done this course, so I popped onto it to take a look at the lesson. What immediately became apparent is that you’re missing a full range of VALUES. Specifically, you’re missing the darkest tones. Go back and look at Matt’s finished drawing and I think you’ll see what I’m talking about. The door opening to the shed, the bark on the tree in the foreground, and the fence posts all need to be a lot darker. They are all in shadow on the side where the viewer is standing because of the light source from the upper left side. Then look at the tree line in the distance and see the variation in the really dark evergreens on the left side, and the lower darker shadows next to the ground on the entire tree line. Also look at the texture of your mark making. In the e-book for this lesson on the top of the second page, Matt talks about creating textural marks to allow the value to be darker. Your marks here are very linear and Matts are kind of circular. These are the things that you can easily adjust and will make you happier with the results.

So my suggestion, go back to the ebook and look again at the lesson paying particular attention to the variation in value (from light to dark) and to the texture of the mark making).

A big part of all these lessons is learning how to “see”. Hang in there - you are really off to a wonderful start.

Terri Robichon

3 Likes