Salt lamp texture

I’m a beginner art student (almost 70 yo… never too late, right?). Love that I’ve joined TVI. So - my repetoire is limited. I’m trying to draw everything I can see. But I am frustrated finding the right way to render this salt candle that I have. I want to sketch it. Should I use a different paper or pencil? How do I get that beautiful salt crystal texture? I took a pic, then filtered it to b&w for better definition. Any help is appreciated.

2 Likes

Do not try to get it exactly the way it is. You can use a salt texture for the crystal look.

Hello Bonnie,
Quite right - it’s never too late. I started with VI when I retired (early). I am now nearly 65 and embarked on using soft pastels. Denise is right. Put your spin on it. What kind of medium are you a fan of? I am thinking that this would be nice to do in pastels on a textured paper (Canson Mi-Teintes) or in colored pencils also on a textured paper. The “waffling” on textured paper would allow you to show the candles irregularities. Have fun!
Patricia.

Thanks Denise and Sterlingsiam! I appreciate the encouragement. It occurred to me last night that having a candle lit inside the candle holder would help define the texture visually. Who knew?! As for medium, I am trying to learn to draw with graphite, but have colored with colored pencils for years. I think I will combine the two on some more textured paper. Thank you both!

Hi Bonnie -
Welcome to The Virtual Instructor and the Community. You’ll find that this is a very positive and supportive place to hang out.