Which is the better starters course?

Hello everyone,

I am new on the site and am pretty new with drawing.
Have drawn a lot as a kid and after all these years i want to pick it up again and found it is harder to learn than i remember from back in the days hehehe.
So i tried learning on my own and i got something going but i don’t think i have a solid foundation and have especially a hard time shaping form as in getting light and shadow worked in.
The general issue i think is observation both for the lighting/shading but also for form, proportion and detail.
I have some knowledge but not that much skills yet.

So i think i best start with (re)learning solid fundamentals.
Today i started with the 25days to better drawing, day 1 using the provided reference is clearly highlighting my problem areas. Now looking ahead into the course i feel like this might be more a course for when you have the fundamentals and improve further?

Is the secrets to drawing the course for the fundamentals and basics?

Thanks for your insights.
Good evening from the Netherlands,
Anton

2 Likes

Welcome, Anton! I hope you get as much from TVI as I have! Like you, I had some experience with drawing and art in general. I started TVI with “25 Days to Better Drawing,” and I felt it was a really great starting point for me. I think it or “The Secrets of Drawing,” or maybe even “The Guide to Graphite” would be excellent places to begin. Then you can branch out as your interest is piqued in different types of media.

I found that if I watch a complete lesson first without doing any drawing, that I could start at the beginning of the lesson the second time and draw along. I work a bit and stop the video until I’m comfortable with the part I’m working on, if that makes sense.