Robin with Coloured Pencils

I completed the first of the three little birds with coloured pencil class and decided to try my hand at using the techniques learned to sketch a robin with my Prismacolor Premier Pencils. As someone who is an absolute beginner, I am happy with the results.

4 Likes

You did a great job. I love the coloring and the eye.

Nice effort in applying what you have learned. I like the velvety texture you have achieved on the head and the translucence of the eye. The back and tail may benefit from some additional textural details. Also, you might consider adding some feet or other grounding of the bird.

You did a wonderful job dorothy! The beak and eye are so realistic! It looks like he’s staring at me, hahahaha! The proportions are really well done too. I’m going to do the coloured pencils course next. I am so excited and motivated after seeing your robin.

Oh, yes! You will be thrilled at fast your eye learns to talk to your fingers! Keep drawing!

Thanks Ivey! It will certainly be a challenge.

Thank you! I am just getting used to the coloured pencils.

It was fun to do and then to try and apply the techniques. I definitely learned a lot and still have a long way to go too!

Thank you for the comments. I might go back and try to add some additional colour to the back and tail, but I was scared of over-doing it, so I decided to quit while I was ahead. I will have another look! Oh, yeah, bird feet are on the list of things to practice! :grinning:

I tried my rusty hand with colored pencils. I think I need some more work before I will post them. I definitely overworked them. Because my right-hand shakes so much I am learning how to draw left-handed. I succeeded at eating left-handed so my food gets to my mouth without sending it all over everywhere. I am slowly learning that my left hand is getting used to the ‘story’ the mind is telling it to do