Stay wet palette for acrylics - do I need this?

Hi there!
I’m quite new to painting. This is one of my first paintings with acrylic, a blue tit on a small wooden suitcase as a newborn gift. But I am quite slow and I found that the paint dries very fast on the palette. Now I’ve heard about a stay wet palette so the paint stays usable for a longer time.
Does anyone have experience working with that? Is that something to consider using? What brand is the best to buy? I usually work quite small, about A4 size and smaller. How large of a palette do you advice?
Sorry about all the questions, but I haven’t that much experience with painting with acrylic yet. I did a lot of pen and ink wash.

2 Likes

I wish I could answer! Hope you find someone that can. I am not an acrylic person

I love this. You did a great job.

I love the little wooden suitcase!

I have used a Sta-Wet palette in the past. I had a Masterson version with the sponges and other supplies you need to use it properly. It works beautifully to keep your paints usable longer than a day. I think you have to decide on size based on how many colors you use on a regular basis. I noticed one that is 8.5 x 7 inches on Amazon, probably the smallest. They go up from there. A piece of palette paper is placed over the wet sponge, and your paints go on the palette paper. There is a lid that covers everything when you’re done for the day. I remember it keeping paints usable for at least a week or longer. I don’t know that you need it, but I sure enjoyed mine when I was working in mainly acrylics.

Hope this helps.
Brenda

Applemoes,

I used to have that problem and just put the pallet in a Ziplock bag. It would last a few days this way.

Then I started using Golden Open Acrylics. Using the same method, they will last as long as water-mixable oils.

In all cases I use a disposable vegetable tray so the plastic doesn’t stick to the paints from above.