Water soluble oil paints

Hello friends! Has anyone had any experience using Water Soluble Oil Paints (a.k.a. Water Mixable). I have no experience with oil paint (right now, I find them too expensive for my taste :wink:). My sister paints mostly in oils but has not experienced with the water soluble version. I have watched a few reviews on You Tube from established artists and, many of them, seem to like them. If you have tried these, what would be your pros and cons? (I know that Matt has done a few projects with the water soluble oils such as a White Rose, a Homeless man, a Cow and a few more.) I would be interested to know what your experience has been with these. THANKS!

I have used them a little bit. In terms of my preference for paintings they are half way between oils and acrylics. I have however found that they seem to take an incredibly long time to dry without any medium in them and stay tacky for quite a while. However a lot of this is probably due to the fact that I haven’t bothered investing in specific mediums for them, because I have my oils. They feel like oils when using them. Another consideration is that I don’t think they have different qualities and to be honest I don’t know whether they are designed to be on a level with the professional standard or amateur and student oil paints. The price is half way between the two, so not really sure if this makes it ‘cheaper than the artists oil’ or ‘more expensive than the student and amateur’ oil paints. If the latter then I would get the oil paint student and amateur versions tbh. All I can say is that their is a definite difference between these two levels in oils. Not sure if this helps?! :thinking::grinning: